[VIDEO] EPRDF reelected Abiy Ahmed & Demeke Mekonnen as chairman and vice chairman

EPRDF’s 11th congress reelected Abiy Ahmed and Demeke Mekonnen as chairman and vice chairman

The 11th congress of Ethiopia’s ruling coalition, Ethiopian People’s Democratic Front (EPRDF), that was convened in Awasa (aka Hawassa) on Wednesday has elected current Prime Minister Abiy Ahmed as chairman and Ato Demeke Mekonnen as vice-chairman today.

Dr Abiy Ahmed won the chairmanship without a challenger. There was an effort by some of the EPRDF delegates to replace Ato Demeke Mekonnen with Wzr. Muferian Kamil, the current speaker of Parliament, but it is reported that she withdrew herself from the nomination. In the competition for vice chairmanship, Ato Demeke received 149 out of 178 votes. Ato Debretsion Gebremichael of TPLF received 15 votes.